anthropometaphors

translating biophilia into a love of life

An increasingly personalized tool

with 3 comments

I track several statistics about myself on a daily basis through Google Docs, namely:

  • Daily caloric intake (each meal, total calculated at end of day)
  • Day of menstrual cycle
  • Exercise (duration, type, intensity)
  • Supplements I take
  • Weight (once a week, measured on Friday morning)
  • Mood (as text)
  • Other notes (i.e. cramps, illness, etc)

The tracking originated as a food diary while I was on a weight loss plan.  After the initial effort was made to generate the spreadsheet (and accompanying graphs!), I began adding extra bits of information to the tracker until an increasingly personalized tool was created.  I continue to populate the tool because I love graphs and am interested to see if any of my stats correlate with one another.

I thought I was the only person who did this.  I was wrong.  Not only was I wrong, I was outdone!

Enter Alexandra Carmichael, a woman who tracks 40 things about her body, mind and activity every day (see sample data below).  Alexandra has written about her data collection and metrics at The Quantified Self and was included in a 6 December 2008 article about blogging personal statistics featured in the Technology section of The Wall Street Journal.

Alexandra Carmichael's data plots

Thanks for the comeraderie and inspiration, Alexandra!  I look forward to updating my Google Doc!

Written by morethangray

December 15, 2008 at 2:30 pm

Posted in thoughts

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. that is VERY interesting… very interesting indeed…

    Naomi

    December 16, 2008 at 10:39 pm

    • lol. have you ever used something similar? i guess it’s like a diary for a mathematician.

      morethangray

      December 17, 2008 at 1:23 pm

  2. geez louise! agreed..very interesting!

    mmmchow

    December 17, 2008 at 10:55 pm


Leave a Reply

