anthropometaphors

translating biophilia into a love of life

You are what your friends eat

with 2 comments

You are what your friends eat

Memes worm their way through social networks to reach populations in surprisingly little time. It seems mood and obesity are two phenomena transmitted — like memes — by networks of friends.  When it comes to happiness (and weight), we are what our friends eat.

Given the amount of time spent and the importance of relationships with close friends, it makes sense that certain aspects of life are socially contagious. We’re social creatures; much of what we do and who we are is influenced by those in our network of connections, from our spouse and closest friend to our colleagues and neighbors.

Written by morethangray

December 31, 2008 at 5:36 pm

Posted in thoughts

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Is that why you decided to become a vegetarian? hehe. Funny, most of my friends work out and are thin and healthy, but look at me! I mean I’m not FAT or unhealthy, but I really, really want to work out regularly! why can’t that transfer to me socially? UGH! I need motivation! hehe. I’ve started waking up at 5:30am every other week-day morning to jog for 30 minutes, though, so that’s a start! Hopefully I’ll see this weight start to drop off. hopefully?!?

    Naomi

    January 4, 2009 at 8:47 am

  2. Maybe!! Just having someone who knows your habits and goals can move mountains…or at least molehills. Give Yourself time to reach your goal, and know you have my respect for running! I’m lucky to run twice a week!!

    Morgan

    January 4, 2009 at 3:48 pm


Leave a Reply

