translating biophilia into a love of life

The Five Ages of the Brain

with 2 comments

A special feature over at New Scientist called The Five Ages of the Brain is an interesting (and readable) survey of human brain capability and functional change during the following formative stages: gestation, childhood, adolescence, adulthood and old age.

Throughout life our brains undergo more changes than any other part of the body. These can be broadly divided into five stages, each profoundly affecting our abilities and behaviour.

But we are not just passengers in this process, so how can we get the best out of our brains at every stage and pass the best possible organ on to the next?


Written by morethangray

April 2, 2009 at 11:40 am

Posted in thoughts

Tagged with , ,

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. oh this is a good one :) i will have to check out that article. i definitely notice my brain changing lately. hehe :)

    Naomi Thompson

    April 3, 2009 at 9:01 pm

  2. yeah, apparently adulthood ends some time in the late 20s? eek.


    April 4, 2009 at 5:07 pm

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: