anthropometaphors

translating biophilia into a love of life

Visualize Anything

with 2 comments

I lurve visualizing information.

In a past life, I was a Research Associate in Product Development.  The highlight of the job was using statisical analysis to design and analyze experiments.  The end product of my work happened to be a molecular diagnostic for genetic variation.  I found satisfaction in developing a robust, reliable tool for genetic analysis, but ultimately it was the analytical process I enjoyed.

I’ve stayed in the biostatistics loop — the teams I now manage have a statistical analysis component.  I no longer do the actual stats work, but I get to have fun conversations at the water cooler.

So when I heard of Wolfram | Alpha, an analytical search engine, I was excited.  I mean really, really excited.  While screen shots from the engine aren’t being posted, a webcast is available in which Wolfram talks about the engine.

Wolfram is the creator of what I consider the holy grail of stats packages: Mathematica.  The marketing language for the newest version, Mathematica 6, claims a user can “Visualize Anything”.  While that may not be entirely true, the program can be used to visualize a fair amount.

picture1

High-Impact Adaptive Visualization

Written by morethangray

April 29, 2009 at 8:58 am

Posted in videos

Tagged with ,

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. you’re so smart. it’s dreamy, really.

    Naomi Thompson

    April 29, 2009 at 8:45 pm

  2. aw. thanks. it’s only been recently that i’ve started to see it as a good thing…

    how does the saying go? “book smarts, not street smarts”

    morethangray

    April 30, 2009 at 3:11 pm


Leave a Reply

